That’s What I Said: The Onion on the Cordoba House Debate

Posted: August 30, 2010 by RA in Politics, Religion, Society
Tags: , , , , ,

So, I read The Onion pretty regularly, and try to share some of its greatest hits as much as I can. There’s nothing quite like the crazy, farcical writing that’s their stock in trade. Today, as I chomped down on an unholy, salt-laden protein-fest that was supposed to be good for me, I came across:

Gentries explained that it “didn’t take long” to find out as much about the tenets of Islam as he needed to. He said he knew Muslims stoned their women for committing adultery, trained for terrorist attacks at fundamentalist madrassas, and believed in jihad, which Gentries described as the thing they used to justify killing infidels.

“All Muslims are at war with America, and I will resist any attempt to challenge that assertion with potentially illuminating facts,” said Gentries, who threatened to leave the room if presented with the number of Muslims who live peacefully in the United States, serve in the country’s armed forces, or were victims themselves of the 9/11 attacks. “Period.”

 I didn’t laugh once. The problem was that this time, the crazy, farcical shit they came up with was pretty damn representative of shit we’re hearing on the regular in present-day America. Like I said in last week’s Cordoba word-puke, I really do believe America has begun a disturbing devolution that will, at this rate, end with the shriveling and requisite amputation of our atrophied thumbs.

Raise a glass with me, America — you earned this one. Remember when you could say you weren’t an Onion article?

THE ONION: MAN ALREADY KNOWS EVERYTHING HE NEEDS TO KNOW ABOUT MUSLIMS

Comments
  1. D says:

    Utterly hilarious (not). I actually put up this article on my facebook page a few days ago, preceeded only by “yep!”. Glad to see this also struck you as factual reporting. I assume it’s ’cause the folks at the Onion had decided that Foxxy News encroaching on their farcical, satirical, FICTIONAL reporting territory, they’d go in the other direction.

Leave a Reply

