Bon Temps News: Wolves Cause Bats to Jump Shark

Posted: June 22, 2010 by RA in Television
Tags: ,

 vampireWolves

Remember how surprised I was at enjoying last week’s True Blood? Well, I neglected to mention one element that gave me pause: the introduction of werewolves.

Yeah, seriously. Werewolves.

In all the over-the-top madness of the show, I had completely forgotten that it was conceived at the height of Twilight-fueled vampire mania. So I was disappointed at the idea that this show, having finally hit a stride of sorts, would resort to Underworld-esque, teen-baiting trend-hopping. And late trend-hopping, at that.

Then again, I remember being pretty irritated (in a tickled kind of way) at the growing team of Supernatural All-Stars Alan Ball was recruiting to Bon Temps. Vampires and telepathic waitresses were one thing (well, two things), but then we got shapeshifters and a Maenad — an entity they were never quite able to explain properly. Dude, throw in a mummy, and you’ve got the Groovy Goolies.

So you can imagine my dismay at the first mention of the clumsily named “Operation Werewolf”. Did Bon Temps really need yet another supernatural entity? Vampires and werewolves — was there ever a more clichéd combination than that? But then, through the magic of period flashback (a TB staple), we learn that this isn’t just any old band of werewolves. They’re Nazi werewolves!

Seriously, y’all. I don’t see how this could possibly end well. At this point, True Blood has spent more time jumping the shark than not. But this time, I can’t say I’m all that worried. Nay, I welcome this latest plummet into lunacy. I expect demand that it all collapses in one huge, historically inaccurate mess, via the True Blood Period Flashback Machine®, of course. Confederate soldier Bill, disgusted by an encounter with the godless Operation Werewolf nazis, goes rogue and joins the Union army. But this enrages vikings Eric and Godrik, who recruit shapeshifting Sam and the rest of the X-Men for an all-out war!! (Featuring special cameos by Mechagodzilla and musical performance by Justin Timberlake.)

I can hardly wait.

But until then, here’s a preview of what we can expect in the coming weeks:

Comments
  1. idia says:

    *AHEM* Correction: The Sookie Stackhouse Novels were most definitely conceived and birthed waaay before the Twilight Saga. Now, what grinds gears so much is that you would actually compare a masterpiece like True Blood to the movies about twinkling-in-daytime vampires. Merq, you should know better. Google that shit! Check out Dead in Dixie by Charlaine Harris, Circa 2003.

  2. merq says:

    Hah! I stand corrected, idia.
    Please forgive my ignorance.

  3. merq says:

    But I stand by my mockery of the Nazi Werewolf element.
    WEREWOLF WOMEN OF THE S.S. can’t be that far away.

Leave a Reply

